E3 2017

E3, one of the biggest gaming publicity events ever, is finally almost here again, and this time it was available to the public. 15,000 tickets were made available to the general public for the first time in the convention’s history. The first 1,000 tickets were sold for $149 a piece, while the rest sold for $249 a piece – more than fair, if you aren’t opposed to occasionally being a sardine in a can while you play demos of games long wished for.

We’ve touched on many of the upcoming showcases in our podcast, This Week in Gaming, but it’s hard to keep track of which company is doing what panel when – so here’s the lineup for E3 and what they’re bringing, or have already brought, to the table.

Saturday, June 10

Electronic Arts| 12PM PST / 3PM EST

UPDATE 06/11 11:00AM: Madden NFL 18, Battlefield 1 expansion (In The Name of the Tsar), Need for Speed Payback, and the announcement of Bioware’s new game – Anthem. Or, at least, the announcement of the game’s title. And Star Wars Battlefront: 2 will actually have a story mode!

Sunday, June 11

Microsoft | 2PM PST / 5PM EST

UPDATE 06/11 10:24PM EST: Project Scorpio’s new name has officially been announced – the Xbox One X, and will launch November 7, 2017 for $499.99. Also, original Xbox Games will now work on the Xbox One family of consoles!

“Your original Xbox discs will work. Digital licenses will carry over. AND you can system-link play across all three generations.”

Not every game will work, and they have to manually make every game they intend to work, work, so it will be a while before potentially any game is available.

Also! BioWare announced their new game, Anthem. Also also, Assassin’s Creed Origins was officially confirmed.

A Life is Strange: Before the Storm trailer was officially announced – a prequel to Life is Strange. It’s available now for preorder on the Xbox Games Store, but is soon going to be available on PS4 and Windows PC.

UPDATE 06/12 8:56PM: The original Xbox controller is COMING BACK for Christmas 2017!

Bethesda Showcase | 9PM PST / 12AM EST (Monday June 12)

UPDATE 06/12 8:50PM: Skyrim for the Nintendo Switch (with amiibo support, and also motion control support), Doom VR, Fallout 4 VR, Dishonored: Death of the Outsider (for release September 15, 2017 for $29.99), The Evil Within 2 (Friday October 13th), Wolfenstein 2: The New Colossus, and the Morrowind expansion is coming to The Elder Scrolls Online.

Monday, June 12

Ubisoft | 1PM PST / 4PM EST

UPDATE 06/12 9:02PM: Assassin’s Creed Origins confirmed (we were right about the leak), Mario + Rabbids: Kingdom Battle, The Crew 2, Transference (starring Elijah Wood?), and some gameplay from Far Cry 5.

Sony: Playstation Showcase | 6PM PST / 9PM EST

UPDATE 06/12 10:00PM: Days Gone, Uncharted: The Lost Legacy (releases sometime in 2017), Monster Hunter World (early 2018), Shadow of the Colossus remake (2018), some gameplay of Call of Duty: World War II (November 3, 2017), God of War (early 2018), Detroit: Become Human, Destiny 2 (September 6, with exclusive content on PS4) and the Playstation exclusive: Spider-man (2018).

Tuesday, June 13

Nintendo | 9AM PST / 12PM EST

UPDATE 06/13 12:30PM: Rocket League for the Switch with cross-platform play, Xenoblade Chronicles 2, Metroid Prime 4, and Super Mario Odyssey!

Wednesday, June 14

Hideo Kojima will be doing an E3 Coliseum panel with Jordan Vogt-Roberts (he directed Kong: Skull Island), to talk about the Metal Gear Solid series’ film adaptation that Vogt-Roberts is working on.

“Apologies to our fans, Death Stranding will not be @ E3 as we are fully focused on development. Pls see me with @geoffkeighley on 6/14!”

Catch us on This Week in Gaming on our Soundcloud every Saturday morning.